Last night, I went to a lovely birthday soiree in Greektown. Excellent company, good wine, saganaki, vegetarian mousaka, baklava, good strong coffee. All in all a wonderful night. And, strong coffee be damned, I was totally exhausted when I got home and try as I might to get some work finished, I crashed.

This morning I woke up feeling like something was off, but was unable to pinpoint it. So, I did what I always do when I feel like there is unrest in Amyville– I cleaned. And, though there is something really satisfying about getting on all fours and scrubbing your kitchen floor, something was still just off.

No phone calls coming in, so I checked email. A good friend wrote to tell me his son is just days into a serious medical ordeal and is having a craniotomy Monday morning to address a brain abcess. Yikes. I wish them both well. How scary. (Refuah Shleima)

