My reading at Quimby’s last night was good clean fun. I love Quimby’s, so reading there was a real treat for me. And, a few people I hadn’t spent time with in far too long were good enough to attend, and early on, a grad student calling herself only “Vellum” threw me for such a loop that I paused and took my bra off from under my shirt just to calm down. I say “threw me for a loop” because, as I pointed out (hopefully kindly) she was a hamster– wiggling, scratching paper, tapping, crinkling paper, etc. I always supply paper to be tossed at me by audience members, but she whipped out an entire notepad and started ripping sheets and crumpling them. She sat near by friend Michael, so I finally asked him to confiscate her notepad. She tried to pitch her novel to me, which I wish her well on, unaware I’m no publisher and, sadly, can’t help her in the least. But, my favorite moment, by far, was when she stood, came to the front and told me that she reads my blog and therefore, knew I have a cat and gave me a copy of a cat massage book. That certainly was a surprise!

After, my new friends from Ninth Letter, who had been videotaping the reading, stayed around and interviewed me. I did put my bra back on for that.

So, Rosh HaShanah-a-go-go starts tonight, so forgive me if my posts are few and far between for the next few days. But, I have a few interested projects in my head I want to try to make some sense of this weekend. Details on them soon. L’Shana tovah!

